Skip to main content

NEVADA Emergency Preparedness Association
"Building a more resilient Nevada."
Follow us on social media:
  
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeNVEM/NVEM-A Certification

NEPA Certification Program

Disclaimer: The Nevada Emergency Preparedness Association (NEPA) is not establishing standards governing the conduct of any emergency managers or establishing any set procedures for work performance.  The certification program is designed to establish educational, training, and experience criteria relevant to emergency management in the State of Nevada and to certify that an individual has met these criteria.  You need to be a member of NEPA in order to be certified.



Welcome to the Nevada Emergency Preparedness Association (NEPA) Certification Program.  The NEPA Certification Program is designed to recognize individuals who possess the experience, knowledge, skills and abilities to effectively manage a comprehensive emergency management program.  The certification is not only recognizing emergency managers, but also emergency management partners in the public, private, and volunteer sectors who dedicate their time and efforts to the field of emergency management.

The term “Comprehensive Emergency Management” means integrating all stakeholders by strengthening preparedness in all mission areas of emergency activity, for all types of disasters.  The “comprehensive” aspect of Comprehensive Emergency Management includes all five mission areas to establish a capabilities-based approach to Preparedness.  A capability provides the means to accomplish the mission of: Mitigation, Prevention, Protection, Response, and Recovery for all hazards in a federal, state, tribal, local, volunteer and private sector operating partnership.

The certified individual has shown that they are capable of effectively accomplishing the goals and objectives of disaster/emergency management in all the environments listed above.

The NEPA Certification Program affords the applicant two different levels of certification for which to qualify:

Nevada Emergency Manager-Associate (NVEM-A):  This certification recognizes devoted individuals who possess the knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform effectively within a comprehensive emergency management program.  These programs can reside within the public or private sector.

The term Nevada Emergency Manager-Associate (NVEM-A) designates prescribed training and educational criteria including a minimum of one year of experience in a position or combination of non-concurrent positions (with no more than a six month gap between different positions) where at least 25% of the duties are related to All-Hazards Emergency Management and at least 51% of time on duty is spent in the State of Nevada. A Bachelor’s degree or greater in Emergency Management will waive the minimum years of experience.

Nevada Emergency Manager (NVEM):  This certification recognizes devoted individuals who possess advanced knowledge, skills, and abilities to perform effectively within a comprehensive emergency management program.  These programs can reside within the public or private sector.

The term Nevada Emergency Manager (NVEM) designates prescribed training and educational criteria including a minimum of three years of experience in a position or combination of non-concurrent positions (with no more than a six month gap between different positions) where at least 25% of the duties are related to All-Hazards Emergency Management and at least 51% of time on duty is spent in the State of Nevada

  • A NVEM has a working knowledge of all the basic tenets of emergency management. This is to include mitigation, prevention, protection, response and recovery.
  • A NVEM has experience and knowledge of interagency and community wide participation in planning, coordination, and management functions designed to improve emergency management capabilities.
  • A NVEM can effectively accomplish the goals and objectives of any emergency management program in all environments.


NEPA membership is required at time of application submission.

Application fees are set by the NEPA Board of Directors.  Dues are currently set:


1. Initial NVEM, NVEM-A, certification submission and review:  $50.00. 

2. NVEM, NVEM-A recertification submission and review: $25.00.

ALL APPLICATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.



Apply for the Nevada Emergency Manager (NVEM)

or

Apply for the Nevada Emergency Manager Associate (NVEM-A)


Below is a list of mentors who can assist with the application process:

Roy Anderson, roy.anderson@washoeschools.com
Jon Bakkedahl, j.bakkedahl@dps.state.nv.us
Solome Barton, bartons@cityofnorthlasvegas.com
Guy DeMarco, gdemarco@lasvegasnevada.gov
Kara Easton, keaston@lasvegasnevada.gov
Dave Fogerson, dfogerson@eastforkfire.org
Jay Giovacchini, jgiovacchini@dps.state.nv.us
Yuri Graves, yuri.graves@unlv.edu
Jeff Hahn, jhahn@lvcva.com
Annette Kerr, akerr@elkocountynv.net
Carolyn Levering, clevering@lasvegasnevada.gov
Cheryl Nagy, cheryl.nagy@clarkcountynv.gov
Angela Palombaro, arpalombaro@yahoo.com
Carlito Rayos, carlito.rayos@lvvwd.com
Misty Richardson, richardsonm@clarkcountynv.gov
Angeline Szymanski, aszymanski@cleanwaterteam.com
Michelle Thackston, mthackston@lasvegasnevada.gov
Matt Williams, matt.williams@dps.state.nv.us
Amanda Wines, awindes@unr.edu